• Whinypaluza
  • Posts
  • Happy First Day of School – How do I have a senior?

Happy First Day of School – How do I have a senior?

Inspiring Adventures in Parenting & Marriage

newsletter-title

Whinypaluza Wednesday

Happy First Day of School – How do I have a senior?

The first day of school is always a rollercoaster of emotions. As a mom, I find myself caught between the excitement of going back to school and the heartache of watching my kids grow up just a little bit more. I am excited to watch them learn and grow this year and am also sad that summer has come to an end. I miss them already and am also enjoying that I can write this in peace. I would be rich if I was paid every time they said “mom” this summer. I don’t know how I fit any work into my summer, but I always seem to make it work somehow. Mom’s always find a way to get it all done.



I didn’t sleep at all last night. I may have gotten a few hours of sleep. First, you know that emotions are always super charged for the first day of school. Second, my husband turned the thermostat up to 71 degrees! He has been married to me for 19 years! Today is our 19th wedding anniversary.


He should know that I cannot sleep with the temperature at 71. When I got up to check in the middle of the night I was not happy with him. I don’t care if he’s freezing at 69 degrees. He is not allowed to touch that thermostat. We are going to have a talk before bed tonight! Now I know that I need to check before I go to sleep. I know you all understand!


Also, my back was throbbing. I did way too much yesterday, and I overdid it. It was not a good night, and I will hopefully sleep well tonight. I hope you all slept better than I did. The good news is that my children slept well.


Tune in tonight at 9PM Eastern to hear how it went and what I learned...


I will be live from my NEW profile!


Find me HERE.



I hope to see you there!


Laughing, Learning, Loving


Rebecca Greene, LCSW-R