Peer Pressure

Inspiring Adventures in Parenting & Marriage

newsletter-title

Whinypaluza Wednesday

Peer Pressure

By Ella Greene (15 year old daughter of Rebecca Greene)

Peer pressure is not what you think it is. Chances are when you think of peer pressure you think of someone making fun of your child for refusing to do something. But it is much simpler than that. Peer pressure could just be a group of people asking you to do something. With this in mind here are some things I would’ve liked to have been told about peer pressure.

 

Peer pressure and social anxiety are a perfect storm: I was personally most susceptible to peer pressure when I was anxious to make everyone like me. My worry about “fitting in” led me to being pressured into situations I did not want to be in. So, if I would have worked on my social anxiety sooner, I would not have felt so much peer pressure.

 

If their opinion of you can change based on you saying no to something, maybe rethink your friendship/relationship: I say this because I was worried about losing friends. Now that I’m older I realize that your friends shouldn’t want you to do something that you are uncomfortable with. Relationships and opinions of you shouldn’t change because you prioritized your own comfort over doing something with them.



Tune in tonight to hear the rest of Ella's lessons and my own as well.


I am going live tonight from Seth's page again


Find him HERE.



I hope to see you there!


Laughing, Learning, Loving


Rebecca Greene, LCSW-R