Whinypaluza: Inside out 2 Part 2

newsletter-title

Whinypaluza: 

Inside Out 2 Part 2

My family headed to the drive in to see Inside Out 2 for the second time. This was my husband’s first time seeing it and I wanted to share some more lessons from the movie from him and from me too.


If you haven’t taken your kids to see it yet, I strongly encourage you to take them. It is so entertaining, and it is full of so many lessons.


Lessons from my husband Seth:


First, Seth told me that he had such a better understanding of our 11 year old and how her brain works. He says that he will be more patient and understanding of her after seeing this movie. That is worth so much right there.


Seth said that this movie reminds us that anxiety can make really good plans if you can control it.

Anxiety can be a very useful tool if you harness it. 

Anxiety protects you from the future you can’t see.

Change your beliefs and you change your sense of self.

None of that is happening right now.

What can we control? *Note from Rebecca that this is an awesome question to focus on daily. We worry about things that we can’t control. I said to my daughter Ella the other day, “Let’s take steps that you can control to make you feel better vs. being upset over something that you can’t control.”

I love the lessons that Seth shared with us. We forget that anxiety can be a good thing. I have reframed it with my children. Sometimes we will say we are “nervexcited.” That is nerves and excitement wrapped up in one. Saying it makes us laugh and feel less anxious.


My greatest lesson from the movie is to love and accept all of ourselves. Love the anxious side, the sad side, the joyful side and even the angry side. Loving and accepting all of ourselves is one of the greatest lessons from the movie.


If you saw it, come find me and tell me what you learned and loved from the movie. You can always email me at [email protected]. You can also find me on Facebook at Whinypaluza, on Instagram at whinypaluza_mom and on Tik Tok at whinypaluzamom! 


Have a wonderful week! Happy July 1st! It’s the first of the month! Come join the July challenge at the Whinypaluza Mom group on Facebook! I have good prizes to give away!


Find all things WhinyPaluza HERE:

Laughing, Learning, Loving


Rebecca Greene, LCSW-R